Prof. Craig Hawker elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Award Recipient: 

Craig Hawker

Award Date: 

Thursday, April 19, 2018

The Department congratulates Prof. Hawker for election to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, one of the oldest learned societies in the U.S. The American Academy of Arts and Sciences was initially chartered in 1780 "to cultivate every art and science which may tend to advance the interest, honor, dignity, and happiness of a free, independent, and virtuous people."  By being elected, Prof. Hawker joins the ranks of founding members John Adams, James Bowdoin, Benjamin Franklin, Thomas Jefferson, and George Washington as well as members Jonas Salk, Margaret Mead, John F. Kennedy, Martin Luther King, Jr., and Alexander Graham Bell, to name just a few.

Prof. Hawker will be officially inducted at the House of the Academy in a ceremony this fall.